2015.

2015 was brutal when it comes to our infertility journey. Going into our FET for IVF #3 with our PGS tested embryos and my best lining ever, I did not anticipate the outcome that we got. I also don’t think that even in my most-pessimistic predictions I ever thought back in 2011 that I would begin 2016 child-free.  But, as my therapist tells me regularly, this is my path. I have to stop waiting to get back on the path I’m “supposed” to be on. The path with two kids by age 35 that I gaze wistfully at as my friends walk down it.

To sum up what happened since my last post, we have decided not to pursue further IVF treatments at this time. The protocol from Dr. KK was very overwhelming, and even if I wrapped my head around doing IVIG, it didn’t make financial sense. IVIG costs $2,000-$3,000 per treatment and I would need 2-4 treatments to reach the point of all my previous miscarriages. That means $8k-$12k to possibly end up in the same place. With limited embryos and funds remaining, surrogacy seems to be our best option.

Surrogacy is CRAZY expensive. There is a reason that you only hear of celebrities doing it. For that reason we are hoping to make an independent match and avoid using an agency. That means hopefully finding a family member or friend that is interested or knows someone interested. There are also websites and Facebook groups, so we are exploring all options. We are turning the corner onto a new path, and I will update this blog as we go. The surrogacy process promises to be challenging and time-consuming, but ideally will bring back some hope.

Thank you to anyone who has read this blog so far. I hope that it has helped you in some way, even if to confirm that you are not alone. I hope that 2016 is THE year for all of you. Happy New Year! xo

7 thoughts on “2015.

  1. I have been following you though email and I just did this through my blog. I’m so sorry things are not working out the way you planned. I want to wish you luck in the surrogacy journey. It is insanely expensive (I have researched it as an option as well, although we are not there yet, I am a planner and I like to have all my options). There is a group on the resolve website (inspire) for people pursuing surrogacy, and even though there are tons of posts there is a lot of good info. I wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

