The Ugly Truth.

Ugly Truth

Nope, not that one (although it does have a promising 28/100 on Metacritic.)

The ugly truth is that one of my friends is pregnant and I don’t feel happy for her. I wish I could say that I feel 80% happy and 20% jealous, but I feel 80% jealous and 20% guilty for not feeling happy. She and I have been having a rough go of it lately anyway, because she was freaking out about not getting pregnant right away. And complaining to me about it. Me, who is entering year three of TTC. Let’s just say sensitivity is not her forte. So I have been keeping my distance from her and haven’t seen her in 3 months.

Cut to yesterday when she sends me an email telling me that she is 11 weeks pregnant. Which means it took her about 6 months to get there – totally normal. She also mentions how tired and sick she’s been feeling. Am I supposed to feel bad for her? Because I would pretty much do anything you can think of to feel tired, sick, and pregnant. My prevailing thought now is, at least there’s another friend that I don’t have to hang out with while pretending that I’m not depressed.

I think I must be a terrible person. Resolve has info about Infertility Etiquette that says that ‘(Your infertile friend) isn’t rejecting you or your new baby; she is just trying to work her way through her pain to show sincere joy for you.’ Maybe I will eventually, but I don’t feel that sincere joy yet.

http://www.resolve.org/support-and-services/for-family–friends/infertility-etiquette.html

Leave a Reply

