It’s Like Waiting for the Cable Guy.

My RE’s office requires you to go in for monitoring between 6:30 and 10am, then they will call you with the results and instructions between 1-4pm. Net result, you get nothing done the entire day. You get to work late, then spend the rest of the morning and most of the afternoon agonizing about the impending news. That’s how I’m spending today. Agonizing and Googling – a dangerous combo.

I went in today for monitoring of my lining thickness. Silly me, I was honestly thinking it would be routine. Well, my lining thickness was ‘thinner than they would like’. WTF. This happened to me on both Clomid and Femara, but not on Follistim or my fresh cycle of IVF. Today it was 7.2mm. They want 8mm as a minimum for the first monitoring appointment. So now I have to wait for them to call me with the blood test results, to see if my cycle is delayed or cancelled and if my meds are changing. I’m having a really hard time not freaking out. In fact, I would say that I am freaking out. I can’t stop my mind from going to the worst-case scenario of the cycle being cancelled. It’s like 1:15, so only 15 minutes into my 3-hour window of waiting, and I need to know what’s going on. You’d think that doing this so many times I’d have developed more patience, but that’s definitely not the case.

Instead I’ve been Googling ways to improve lining thickness: exercise, acupuncture, vitamin E, pomegranate juice, and raspberry leaf tea are all suggestions. That and different forms of estrogen (oral or vaginal estrace). I guess I’ll ask the nurse for suggestions when she finally calls. Until then, I’ll hope for positive vibes from the universe and all of you non-existent blog readers.

Leave a Reply

