‘Looney Lupron’?

So, I managed 4 IUI cycles and and IVF without taking Lupron. Not so lucky this time. I am currently on day 5 of 10IUs for this go ’round. Some cutesy blogger somewhere deemed Lupron ‘looney Lupron’. You know since crying when a delivery truck blocks your path is totally in the same category as Daffy Duck and Wile E. Coyote – so looney! So far the shots themselves have been pretty normal. I still don’t like the insulin needles (the orange caps for those of you suffering along with me), I find them very difficult to grasp since they are tiny. As for side effects, I do feel a bit looney, and not in the oversized barrel of TNT way – more in the ‘if you try to use the copy machine when I want to use it, I may stab you’ way. I also am having bad back pain, which may or may not be related to the drug. I have to inject this stuff for 20-30 days, depending upon the whims of my Dr.

My baseline appointment is next Tuesday, so I may know more then. That appointment will also determine the start date for the estrogen patches – which last time made me insane and left nice allergic welts all over my stomach. So I’ve got that to look forward to. (Oh and latest crisis – DH’s dad is taking us boating for DH’s birthday right in the middle of estrogen patch August. So, I think I need to find a one-piece swimsuit or make up a reason why I’m using 3 Nicorette patches at once.) Honestly though, FET cycle is off to a much more chill start than the jump into stims that was IVF.

Leave a Reply

