IUI – The Follistim Chronicles

There remains an ongoing discussion in my house about who we should share this journey with. Will people ask too many questions? Will they give unsolicited advice? Do we want to talk about this on a daily basis with anyone besides each other? Who really knows the answers to these questions? Secretly, I wish all our family members would accidentally read this blog and then never mention it to us. All that said, many family members are still in the dark. That made for an interesting first attempt at Follistim, as doses 1 and 2 were on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day (between 5pm and 8pm).

Immediately upon arrival at my mother-in-law’s house, I had to assemble the Follistim pen and give myself the first injection. The Follistim pen is really a great invention, and it makes dosing and giving the shots very very simple. However, when doing everything the first time, there are like 47 directions on two pages. It took me the better part of a half hour, which immediately rose suspicions that I was sick. Combine that with not drinking and the interrogations about whether or not I was pregnant began. Hopefully, we’ve deferred those questions for awhile by saying that I had the flu, but I’m sure that won’t help for long…

Leave a Reply

